Logo Logo

Sharjah - Facts and Figures

Sharjah [al-Shariqah = the East, or: rising sun] is the third largest of the 7 emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Sharjah has long been known for its strong commitment to the arts, culture and history. In 1998, the city of Sharjah was UNESCO cultural capital of the Arab World, and it is Capital of Islamic Culture for 2014. The Sharjah Biennial is organized since 1993. It was fundamentally reoriented in 2003 on the initiative and under the direction of Hoor Al Qasimi, introducing a new era for contemporary art in the Gulf.

The Emirate of Sharjah covers approx. 2,600 square kilometres. In addition to Sharjah city, which lies on the shores of the Arabian Gulf, the emirate has three regions on the scenic east coast at the Gulf of Oman: Dibba Al Hisn, Khor Fakkan and Kalba. Therefore it is the only of the 7 emirates to have land on both coasts.

In 2008, the Emirate of Sharjah had 946,000 inhabitants (85% living in Sharjah city), about 19% of the overall population of the UAE.

Since 1972 His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qasimi is Member of the Supreme Council of United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Sharjah.

The primary economical resources of Sharjah are crude oil and gas. A large number of the population work in other sectors that include chemical, tourism, logistics, plastics and fibreglass, pipe and many more short scale industries. Sharjah is a main industrial hub of the country, as it currently represents 48% of the UAE’s total Industrial Sector.

[this page is under construction and will be extended soon]

From information of the Sharjah Media Center and other official sources.


Emirate of Sharjah

Capital: city of Sharjah

Total area: aprox. 2,600 sq. km.
Population: 946,000 (in 2008)

HH Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council of United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Sharjah

United Arab Emirates
Formed on 2nd December 1971 as a 6 member independent state, with the unification of Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Fujairah, Umm Al Quwain and Ajman, with Ras Al Khaimah joining in 1972 to complete the 7 emirate country.

Capital: Abu Dhabi

Total area: 83,600 sq. km.
UAE Population: 7.2 million
(at the end of 2011)


Back to Top